Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Waldo Peirce Reading Room
Home | History/Background | News from Melissa | Waldo Peirce Events | Contact Us | New Arrivals | Mystery / Adventure | Large Print Books | Westerns | Fiction | Videos
History/Background

Who We Are, Where We've Been


The original Frankfort Library was established in 1892, from
a trust fund of $20,000., given by Florence M. Cushing of Boston,
Massachusetts in memory of her grandfather, Waldo T. Peirce,
one of Frankfort's early settlers. It was located on the Loggin
Road across from what is presently the Brassbridge house and on
the site of the old Frankfort Post Office. This building, given
by Sarah Peirce, housed one thousand volumes. It was furnished
with adequate tables, chairs, and lighting facilities, in addition to
a Franklin fireplace and other wood stoves which provided the
reader with a comfortable environment. As far as we know today,
the first and only librarian to work in the original library office
was Maude Averill. She resided at the Corner's place just beyond
the Ide Farm and from there walked faithfully to her job-
which brought her the salary of $3.00 per week. This original
library was unfortunately destroyed by fire.

The present library building-called the Waldo Peirce Reading
Room was built by Col. Robert Treat. It was first sold to Evelyn
Whitehouse of Augusta. Evelyn Whitehouse in turn deeded it to
Hayward Peirce of Frankfort, May 16, 1907, for $1,600.
Peirce then sold it to the Waldo Peirce Reading Room Assoc-
iation for $1,600. This deed was dated January 11, 1911.

The main purpose of the fund was to install and maintain a
library for the residents, but the fund also was used to drill an
86 foot artesian well on the present library site, to provide
good drinking water for the community, and to create a dental
clinic for the school children.

The earliest record found was of a meeting held on November 3,
1927. The library board members in attendance were as
follows:

Mrs. Ruth Webber (President)
Miss Jane Roberts
B. Freeman Grant
Herbert L. dark
Ida Tait (Librarian)

If not for the fact that the earliest library records were
destroyed in the fire which burned the original building, we
would today, no doubt, be able to obtain information about
meetings previous to the one in 1927.

Each month the library board has a meeting to discuss its
general condition, finances, possible improvements, etc.

RECENT HISTORY

In recent years we have improved our facilities & equipment
by adding the following:

Hot water furnace
New well
Computer and printer
Copier
Fax machine
Improved access